Seasons of the Heart Series: Winter is not Forever


Winter is Not Forever makes it’s mark as the third installment in Janette Oke’s nostalgic Seasons of the Heart Series. As one of the final books in the series, it portrays the beginning of the end of Josh’s story, without being too rushed. This is an excellent example of a book that covers a large span of time, but doesn’t forget to add detail and depth. This book deals with topics like prayer, discovering one’s purpose, emerging adulthood, family relationships, friendships, loss, grief, love, and faith. The first chapter opens with Josh explaining that he has recently graduated from high school and is trying to discover what God would have him do from here. He questions God regarding what profession he should pursue, should he stay on the farm and care for the land, along with his ailing Grandpa and Uncle Charlie? Or should he leave all that he knows and pursue something completely foreign to him? Josh’s longing for a purpose is only heightened when one of his childhood friends leaves home to be a missionary in a foreign land. Josh misses his friend, and longs to do something similar. As life seems to keep passing him by, he considers his options and begins to test out ideas. Grandpa and Uncle Charlie surprise Josh by hiring a cook and a housekeeper, both about his age, to help out around the house. At first he resents the girls’ presence, but eventually learns to appreciate the work they do, and even builds lasting friendships with both of them. Josh’s answer from God, along with the tragic loss of someone he holds dear come nearly in unison. What profession has God chosen for him? Which one of his friends/family members was taken home to the Lord? What will Josh do now that he has a definite life calling? To answer these questions, read the book! Winter is not Forever can be considered a last farewell to Josh’s childhood, he becoming a man now, and must act as one. While some may say that this novel is simply a prelude to the next one, I think that it should be valued just as much as the others. Each novel portrays an important part of the main character’s life, and without the third book the reader would be left to wonder. However, I think that this novel and the final one in the series should be combined in the final episode of a Christian/inspirational miniseries, as the two combined best portray the main character’s adult life.


What did you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: